MastersScholarshipsUK Scholarships

Angela Adams Scholarship at the University of Glasgow in the UK for 2022/2023

The Angela Adams Scholarship is sponsored by the Scottish Government to honor the memory and legacy of the highly motivated and respected strategic planner, Angela Adams, after her untimely death in 2020.

However, the Angela Adams Scholarship will be awarded to a new student undertaking a master’s in City Planning with preference given to candidates for the Housing Pathway. Scholars selected for the scholarships must display academic excellence, financial need, and a commitment to planning and housing.

The University of Glasgow is a public research university in Glasgow, Scotland. The university was by the papal bull in 1451, it is the fourth-oldest university in the English-speaking world and one of Scotland’s four ancient universities.

Along with the universities of Edinburgh, Aberdeen, and St Andrews, the University of Glasgow as part of the Scottish Enlightenment during the 18th century. In common with universities of the pre-modern era, the university originally educated students primarily from wealthy backgrounds; but, it became a pioneer in British higher education in the 19th century by also providing for the needs of students from the growing urban and commercial middle class.

The University of Glasgow served all of these students by preparing them for professions: law, medicine, civil service, teaching, and the church. The university also trained smaller but growing numbers for careers in science and engineering.

The university is a member of Universitas 21, the Russell Group, and the Guild of European Research-Intensive Universities. The University of Glasgow was originally based in the city’s High Street; since 1870, its main campus has been at Gilmorehill in the City’s West End.

In addition, several university buildings are based elsewhere, such as the Veterinary School in Bearsden, and the Crichton Campus in Dumfries. The University of Glasgow generates a total income of over £450 million every year, amongst the top 10 in the UK.

The University of Glasgow is a member of the Russell Group of research-led British universities- and was a founding member of the organization, Universitas 21, an international grouping of universities committed to setting worldwide standards for higher education.

The university currently has fifteen Regius Professorships, more than in any other UK university. In the QS World University, Rankings Glasgow climbed from 59th overall in 2011 to 54th in 2012, then to 51st in 2013.

The University of Glasgow places within the top 20 in the UK and 3rd in Scotland for the employability of its graduates as ranked by recruiters from the UK’s major companies. In the 2008 Research Assessment Exercise (RAE), almost 70% of the research executed at the university was in the top two categories (88% in the top three categories).

However, eighteen subject areas were rated top ten in the UK, whilst fourteen subject areas were rated the best in Scotland. The 2008 Times RAE table ranks according to an ‘average’ score across all departments, of which the University of Glasgow posted an average of 2.6/4.

Furthermore, the overall average rated the University of Glasgow as the thirty-third-highest of all UK universities, perhaps reflecting the broadness of the university’s activities. In terms of research ‘power’, however, the university rated fourteenth in the UK and second in Scotland.

Worth of Angela Adams Scholarship

The Angela Adams Scholarship covers £5,000 towards tuition for the City Planning MSc at the University of Glasgow.

Eligibility for Angela Adams Scholarship

  • To be qualified for the scholarship, you must hold an offer for the 1-year (or 2-year part-time) Masters in City Planning * program for September 2022.
  • You must be ordinarily resident in the UK and be classified as Home/RUK for fee purposes to be qualified.
  • To be qualified, you must provide proof of excellent academic achievement in your undergraduate studies that are 2:1 degree classification, or above.
  • Each candidate must provide proof that their circumstances are such that they may find it difficult to take up a place at the University for financial or other reasons.
  • Display commitment to planning, housing, or social justice.

How to Apply for Angela Adams Scholarship

If you are interested in Angela Adams Scholarship and eligible for the scholarship, visit the university’s official website to apply.

Application Deadline for Angela Adams Scholarship

The application deadline for the scholarship is May 23, 2022.

Official Website: Click here

Not interested in this particular scholarship? See other UK scholarships here

Related Articles

Back to top button