Australia Scholarships Oceania Scholarships Scholarships Undergraduate

Ed Parchimowicz Prize in Civil Engineering at the University of Queensland, Australia for 2023

Application is now open for the Ed Parchimowicz Prize in Civil Engineering at the University of Queensland. Interested applicants are encouraged to send their applications in before the deadline date.

About the University of Queensland and Scholarship

The State Parliament passed a law in 1909 creating the University of Queensland, the first institution in the state. On April 16, 1910, candidates for the first UQ Senate were officially announced and the University of Queensland was effectively created. In 1911, Brisbane’s Old Government House on George Street welcomed students. In the first year, there were 83 students in the three colleges of arts, science, and engineering (60 men and 23 women).

After World War I, the University quickly exceeded its location in the city. In 1922, a second site in Victoria Park was acquired; it is presently home to the Medical School. The previous Queensland Agricultural College began accepting students in 1897, and the two institutions have long collaborated on teaching and research projects.


In 1999, UQ constructed a significant campus in the provincial hub of Ipswich, using the space formerly occupied by the Challinor Centre mental health hospital. To help certain students finish their degrees, UQ continued to teach at the USQ Ipswich site until 2016. This campus was transferred to the University of Southern Queensland in January 2015.

UQ has received numerous rankings over the years, including 36th in the world by U.S. News in 2022, 47th in the Academic Ranking of World Universities in 2022, 43rd in the 2024 QS World University Rankings, 53rd in the 2023 Times Higher Education World University Rankings, 37th in the CWTS Leiden Ranking, and 33rd in the 2022 NTU rankings. According to the UNSW-published Aggregate Rankings of Top Universities, which take into account performance across QS, THE, and ARWU, UQ was the 42nd-best institution in the world in 2022.

The Ed Parchimowicz Prize in Civil Engineering was founded in 2004 in honor of the civil engineer and former UQ Engineering Manager Ed Parchimowicz, who passed away in 2002. The prize is funded by contributions from groups and people connected to him and The University of Queensland and the money from that fund is used to preserve it.

Details about the Ed Parchimowicz Prize in Civil Engineering at the University of Queensland:

Scholarship Sponsor: University of Queensland, Australia

Scholarship Value: $1,000

Number of awards: One

Study level: Undergraduate

Host Institution(s): University of Queensland, Australia

Ed Parchimowicz Prize in Civil Engineering – Eligibility Criteria

Applicants are advised to meet the following requirements to be qualified for the Ed Parchimowicz Prize in Civil Engineering at the University of Queensland:

  • are full-time students enrolled in an accepted program (see list below); and
  • are enrolled in any engineering program within the civil engineering profession; and
  • have finished your authorized program’s 28 to 43 units.

Approved Program

  • Bachelor of Engineering/ Master of Engineering
  • Bachelor of Engineering (Honours)
  • an engineering dual program.

Selection Criteria

The University will consider:

  • Academic accomplishments, personal traits, aptitude for leadership, and other information judged pertinent to your performance as an engineer in the future, as shown by a cover letter and résumé and confirmed by the Head’s selection committee.

Application Process for Ed Parchimowicz Prize in Civil Engineering

Log in or register for Ed Parchimowicz Prize in Civil Engineering and attach a cover letter, a copy of your resume, and a copy of your studies report. Use the tips for putting together a great application to help you through this process.


Ed Parchimowicz Prize in Civil Engineering Rules (PDF, 119.69 KB)

The Application Deadline is: 20 August 2023

Not interested in this particular scholarship? See other Australia scholarships here.