New Zealand Scholarships PhD Scholarships

University Of Waikato Doctoral Scholarships in New Zealand for 2022/2023

The University of Waikato Doctoral Scholarships will award approximately 75 scholarships each year to high-achieving applicants applying for admission to an authorized doctoral qualification at the university to support excellence in postgraduate research.

About University

The University of Waikato is a public research university in Hamilton, New Zealand founded in 1964. An extra campus is found in Tauranga. However, the university provides a strong, research-led global contribution in the disciplines of education, social sciences, and management and is an originator in environmental science, marine and freshwater ecology, engineering, and computer science. The University of Waikato offers degrees in Health, Engineering, computer science, management, Māori and Indigenous Studies, the Arts, Psychology, Social Sciences, and Education.

Moreover, in the latest 2021 QS rankings, the University of Waikato is rated at 373 out of the world’s top 1,000 universities. Besides, the university has been rated between 501-600 for the Times Higher (THE) World University Rankings and between 101-200 in THE Impact Rankings.


The University of Waikato works from two campuses, Hamilton, and Tauranga. Undergraduate degrees are also offered through a joint institute on a satellite campus at Zhejiang University City College in Hangzhou. Furthermore, in the mid-1950s, regional and national leaders recognized the need for a new university and encouraged the then University of New Zealand (UNZ) and the Government to set up one in Hamilton. Their campaign overlapped with a lack of school teachers, and after years of lobbying, then Minister of Education Philip Skoglund decided to open a teachers’ college in the region. Then in 1960, the newly founded Hamilton Teachers’ College, joined by a fledgling university (originally a branch of the University of Auckland), opened a joint campus at Ruakura.

The two institutions moved to their new home in 1964, and the following year the University of Waikato was officially opened by then Governor-General Sir Bernard Fergusson. At that time, the University of Waikato contained a School of Humanities and a School of Social Sciences. In 1969 a School of Science was founded. In addition, this was followed by the innovation of the Waikato Management School in 1972, Computer Science and Computing Services in 1973, and the School of Law in 1990. That same year, the Hamilton Teacher’s college combined with the University of Waikato.

In 2018 the University of Waikato was reorganized under a divisional structure which resulted in its Schools and Faculties being brought under four Divisions and a School; Division of Arts, Law, Psychology and Social Sciences, Division of Education, Division of Health, Engineering and Computer Sciences, Waikato Management School and the Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies. 

Though the University of Waikato has had a presence in Tauranga since the 1990s, it officially opened its reserved Tauranga campus in 2019 located in Tauranga’s CBD. Hence, this added to the University’s presence in the Bay of Plenty with the Adams Centre for High Performance in Mount Maunganui and the Coastal Marine Field Station in Sulphur Point on the Tauranga Harbour. 

In November 2020, the University again opened a new algal research and aquaculture facility in Sulphur Point.

Benefits of University of Waikato Doctoral Scholarships

All successful applicants of the University Of Waikato Doctoral Scholarships will receive almost $25,000 pa + domestic tuition fees and Student Services, Levy.

The University Of Waikato Scholarship Courses

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.), Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA), Doctor of Education (EdD), or Doctor of Juridical Science (SJD).

Eligibility for University of Waikato Doctoral Scholarships

  • The University Of Waikato Doctoral Scholarships is available to applicants of all nationalities.
  • Candidates who have received an offer of admission for doctoral qualification at the University of Waikato are regarded for the scholarship.
  • Scholars already enrolled in a doctoral degree at the University of Waikato can apply for the scholarship.
  • Candidates enrolling in a Doctor of Philosophy or a Doctor of Musical Arts, and in Part 2 only of a Doctor of Education or a Doctor of Juridical Science are considered for University of Waikato Doctoral Scholarships.
  • Students must be planning to pursue full-time studies.

How to Apply for University of Waikato Doctoral Scholarships

If you are interested, qualified, and wish to apply, click here.

Application Deadline: May 31, 2022.

Not interested in this particular scholarship? See other New Zealand scholarships here