Australia Scholarships Oceania Scholarships PhD Postgraduate Research Scholarships

University of Queensland Helen Kay PhD Scholarship, Australia for 2023

Application is now open for the Helen Kay PhD Scholarship at the University of Queensland. Interested applicants are encouraged to send their applications in before the deadline date.

About the University of Queensland and Scholarship

The University of Queensland, the first university in the state, was established by a 1909 Act of the State Parliament, and it was formally established on April 16, 1910, with the gazettal of nominations to the first UQ Senate. Old Government House on Brisbane’s George Street opened its doors to students in 1911. There were 83 students (60 males and 23 women) in the first year among three faculties: arts, science, and engineering.

The University outgrew its inner-city position after World War I due to its fast growth. A second location in Victoria Park (now occupied by the Medical School) was obtained in 1922. Dr. James O’Neil Mayne and his sister, Miss Mary Emelia Mayne, donated money four years later to purchase the St. Lucia property where the university’s main campus is presently situated. The first structure, subsequently known as the Forgan Smith structure in honor of the then-Premier, was finished in 1939 after construction on the St. Lucia site began. It served as the cutting-edge command center for the Allied Land Forces in the South West Pacific during World War II.


The University and the Queensland Agricultural College joined in 1990 at (now Gatton), 80 kilometers west of Brisbane, uniting the two oldest institutions of higher learning in the State and significantly increasing enrollments. The previous Queensland Agricultural College began accepting students in 1897, and the two institutions have long collaborated on teaching and research projects.

The scholarship was created by Marie and Alf Berry in honor of their granddaughter Helen Kay, a postgraduate research student who passed away in 1999 while pursuing her degree. Helen Kay was a bright young scholar of Australian literature, life writing, and the environment.

Details about the Helen Kay PhD Scholarship at the University of Queensland:

Scholarship Sponsor: University of Queensland, Australia

Scholarship Value: Up to $5,000

Number of awards: Varies

Study level: PhD

Host Institution(s): University of Queensland, Australia

Eligibility Criteria for Helen Kay PhD Scholarship

If you are a candidate for a higher degree by research who is engaged in research at the School of Communication and Arts, you are eligible. An annual scholarship is given to a PhD student in the program who can demonstrate to the committee that they will submit their thesis for review within three months of receiving the scholarship. 

Selection Criteria

You must submit your thesis for review by the end of December 2023 to be considered for the Helen Kay PhD Scholarship, which will be given out in September 2023. You must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the selection committee that you will submit by the deadline while receiving financial aid from the scholarship.

The Graduate School’s Dean will choose a scholar on the recommendation of a committee made up of the following individuals:

  • the Head of the School for Communication and Arts or their representative
  • academic ambassadors for communication and the arts
  • a student delegate who is pursuing a higher research degree but is not a candidate for the round.

Your application will be evaluated based on these factors:

  • advise from the primary advisor on the possibility of meeting the submission deadline; and
  • the degree of promise displayed; and
  • whatever else the selecting committee deems appropriate.

Helen Kay PhD Scholarship – Application Process

To apply, please download and fill out the application form then submit it to the HDR Liaison Officer in the School of Communication and Arts at​ by the application deadline.


Schedule A: Postgraduate Research Scholarships (PDF, 550.18 KB)

Application Deadlines and Key Dates:

31 July 2023 Applications close

September 2023 Scholarship awarded

December 2023 Scholarship holder to submit a thesis

Not interested in this particular scholarship? See other Australia scholarships here.