Bachelor Europe Scholarships Scholarships UK Scholarships Undergraduate

The Stephen Fry Travel Awards at the University of East Anglia, UK 2023

Application is now open for the Stephen Fry Travel Awards at the University of East Anglia. Interested candidates are encouraged to send their applications in before the deadline date.

About the University of East Anglia and Scholarship

The University of East Anglia (UEA), located in Norwich, England, has as a prominent public research institution since its establishment in 1963 on a sprawling 320-acre campus west of the city center. The university comprises four faculties and twenty-six schools of study, boasting an annual income of £295 million for the fiscal year 2021–22. Research grants and contracts contributed £30 million to this income, with total expenditures reaching £370 million. In 2021, the undergraduate offer rate stood at an impressive 85%.

UEA is a key participant in the Norwich Research Park, recognized for hosting one of Europe’s largest concentrations of researchers specializing in Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, and Medicine and Health Sciences. Renowned for its research prowess, UEA consistently ranks among the top 20 institutions nationwide for research quality and is globally cited as one of the leading academic institutions.


The esteemed alumni and faculty of UEA include three Nobel Prize winners, a co-discoverer of Hepatitis C and the Hepatitis D genome, a co-inventor of the Oxford–AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine, a President of the Royal Society, three Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences, and forty-eight Fellows of the Royal Society. Notable alumni also encompass a current monarch, former prime minister, two de facto heads of state, one vice president, one deputy prime minister, and two former leaders of the House of Lords. The university’s impressive track record extends to literary achievements, with alumni claiming three Booker Prize winners, eleven Costa Book Award winners, and three Caine Prize winners.

In global academic standings, UEA consistently ranks in the top 1% worldwide according to the Times Higher Education world rankings and is positioned within the top 100 for research excellence in the Leiden Ranking. Recognized as the tenth-best university globally under 50 years old in 2012, UEA has maintained its standing as the third-best within the UK. Recent national league table rankings place the university at eighteenth in the UK by The Times and Sunday Times and fourteenth by The Complete University Guide. UEA has also earned acclaim for student experience, ranking first in 2013 according to the Times Higher Education Magazine, and securing the third spot for student satisfaction in the National Student Survey among mainstream English universities.

The 2021 Research Excellence Framework underscored UEA’s commitment to exceptional research, with over 91% of its research activity classified as “world-leading” or “internationally excellent.” Notably, more than 47% achieved the highest category of 4* World Leading Research, surpassing the national average of 41%.

The Stephen Fry Travel Award stands as a testament to UEA’s commitment to its undergraduate American Studies students embarking on a Year Abroad in America, offering an impactful award to facilitate their academic and cultural experiences.

Details about The Stephen Fry Travel Awards at the University of East Anglia:

Scholarship Sponsor: University of East Anglia, UK

Scholarship Value: £2,500

Number of awards: N/A

Study level: Bachelor/Undergraduate

Host Institution(s): University of East Anglia, UK

Courses: BA (Hons) American Studies

Eligibility Criteria for The Stephen Fry Travel Awards

Applicants for the Stephen Fry Travel Awards at the University of East Anglia has to be an undergraduate that is studying ​BA American Studies with a Year Abroad in America.

Eligible Countries / Region

  • Africa
  • Middle East
  • Asia
  • North America
  • Australia
  • South America
  • UK
  • EU
  • Europe
  • International
  • East Anglia
  • Norfolk/Suffolk
  • North East of England
  • London

Application Procedure for The Stephen Fry Travel Awards

Interested and eligible candidates for the award should fill out an online form.

The Application Deadline is: 28 December 2023

Not interested in this particular scholarship? See other UK scholarships here.