Europe Scholarships PhD Scholarships UK Scholarships

Perry Foundation Study Awards at Cranfield University, UK 2023/2024

Application is now open for the Perry Foundation Study Awards at Cranfield University. Interested applicants are encouraged to send their applications in before the deadline date.

About Cranfield University and Scholarship

Cranfield University is a British public research institution that solely offers postgraduate degrees in science, engineering, design, technology, and management. Cranfield University was founded in 1946 as the College of Aeronautics (CoA). During the 1950s and 1960s, the advancement of aviation research resulted in expansion and diversification into other fields like manufacturing and management, and in 1967, the Cranfield School of Management was founded. The College of Aeronautics was renamed the Cranfield Institute of Technology in 1969, when it was established by royal charter, granted degree-awarding powers, and became a university. It got its current name in 1993.

Cranfield University has two campuses: one in Cranfield, Bedfordshire, and one in Shrivenham, southwest Oxfordshire, near the Defence Academy of the United Kingdom. The main campus is unique in the UK (and Europe) in that it has its airfield, Cranfield Airfield, as well as its aircraft for teaching and research.


Cranfield University’s specific areas of concentration, or Cranfield themes, aim to bring together a variety of academic disciplines to confront the world’s big issues in a variety of industrial and commercial sectors. Water, Agrifood, Energy and Power, Aerospace, Manufacturing, Transportation Systems, Defense and Security, and Business/Management are among them.

The academic disciplines collaborate closely within Cranfield University’s postgraduate environment, combining as they do in the commercial sector and industry to provide real-world solutions. The Perry Foundation is a legally recognized charity in the UK with the mission of advancing public welfare via agricultural and food production-related education and research.

The maximum amount for each year of the PhD project’s duration—typically three or four years—for the Perry Foundation Study Awards is £12,000. Awards will only be given out once the university, college, or research institution has guaranteed that there will be enough money to cover the project’s remaining costs for the whole time.

Details about the Perry Foundation Study Awards at Cranfield University:

Scholarship Sponsor: Cranfield University, UK

Scholarship Value: £12,000

Number of awards: N/A

Study level: PhD

Host Institution(s): Cranfield University, UK

Courses: Agriculture & Related Courses

Eligibility Criteria for Perry Foundation Study Awards

Candidates are advised to meet the following conditions to be qualified for the Perry Foundation Study Awards at Cranfield University:

  • Students must be working on their Ph.D. in a field relevant to agriculture.
  • Graduates with a first- or upper-second-class honors degree in a relevant field are often eligible for the prizes.
  • Candidates taking final exams in the summer of the year for which the application is received will be taken into consideration, however, prizes will only be given upon successful completion of final exams.

Required Documents for Application

  • What the Ph.D. project’s purpose is and why financing is needed?
  • The anticipated results or advantages of the “project,” taking into account both your own goals and those of the Perry Foundation, if applicable.
  • How the ‘project’ is going to be carried out.
  • The most important resource needs (knowledge and facilities).
  • An overview budget (listing applicable categories such as course fees, stipend/living/travel, materials, contribution to o/heads, staff expenses, and other expenditures like hire charges, specialist fees, and laboratory charges) noting the amount of financing that has been secured from other sources.
  • The greatest dangers.
  • Other people or groups working together, providing funding, etc.
  • Information about the university or research facility.
  • Information on the project manager.
  • The student must be the lead candidate; their resume must be included.

Application Procedure for Perry Foundation Study Awards

The application form can be downloaded at the Perry Foundation website. Every year in October is the application deadline. The Perry Foundation Secretary, Gordon Bennett, may be reached at Applications must be sent electronically, together with a CV and any supporting documentation.

The Application Deadline is: Not Specified

Not interested in this particular scholarship? See other UK scholarships here.