Europe Scholarships Masters Postgraduate Scholarships UK Scholarships

Heriot-Watt University MSc Actuarial Science Scholarships for International Students in UK, 2024

Application is now open for the Heriot-Watt University MSc Actuarial Science Scholarships. Interested applicants are encouraged to send their applications in before the deadline date.

About Heriot-Watt University and Scholarship

Heriot-Watt University stands as a venerable institution with a rich legacy dating back to its establishment in 1821. Originally founded as the School of Arts of Edinburgh, it holds the distinguished honor of being the world’s first mechanics institute, a testament to its pioneering spirit in providing education in the arts and sciences. In 1966, it attained university status through a royal charter, securing its place as the eighth-oldest higher education institution in the United Kingdom.

The university’s nomenclature, Heriot-Watt, pays homage to two influential Scottish figures—James Watt, the revered inventor whose innovations powered the Industrial Revolution, and George Heriot, a philanthropist and goldsmith. This blend of names reflects the institution’s commitment to innovation, learning, and societal contribution.


Heriot-Watt University has earned acclaim for its emphasis on science and engineering, aligning it with the cohort of institutions granted university status in the 1960s. Often categorized as a plate glass university, alongside counterparts like Lancaster and Warwick, Heriot-Watt has established itself as a hub for cutting-edge research and education.

Financially robust, the university reported an annual income of £243.6 million in 2021–22, with £39.2 million sourced from research grants and contracts. This fiscal strength allows Heriot-Watt to continually invest in academic and research endeavors, fostering an environment conducive to intellectual exploration and innovation.

One of the university’s hallmark achievements is its recognition as the International University of the Year by The Times and Sunday Times Good University Guide in 2018. Heriot-Watt’s commitment to academic excellence and the employability of its graduates has garnered praise, with 80% of students finding themselves in graduate-level jobs or further study within six months of completing their programs.

In 2011 and 2012, Heriot-Watt earned the distinction of being The Sunday Times Scottish University of the Year, emphasizing the institution’s commitment to producing graduates with strong employability prospects. It further solidified its reputation by claiming the title of UK University of the Year for student experience in 2012.

The university consistently performs well in various national and international rankings, with commendable positions in league tables such as The Times and Sunday Times Good University Guide, The Guardian, and The Complete University Guide. In the Table of Tables 2015, Heriot-Watt secured the 27th spot in the UK and the 3rd position in Scotland, showcasing its sustained commitment to academic excellence.

At Heriot-Watt University, the pursuit of knowledge extends beyond borders, as evidenced by the MSc Actuarial Science International Scholarships. Open to overseas candidates for the academic session 2024/2025, this scholarship program reflects the institution’s dedication to attracting and supporting outstanding international students pursuing postgraduate studies. The MSc Actuarial Science Scholarships stand as a testament to Heriot-Watt University’s commitment to fostering a global community of scholars and providing opportunities for academic and professional growth.

Details about Heriot-Watt University MSc Actuarial Science Scholarships:

Scholarship Sponsor: Heriot-Watt University, UK

Scholarship Value: Check Below

Number of awards: N/A

Study level: Masters, Postgraduate

Host Institution(s): Heriot-Watt University, UK


  • UK Actuaries of the Future Award: 50% fee reduction for UK students.
  • International Actuarial Impact Award: £5,000 reduction for international students.

The discount applies to the MSc in Actuarial Science program and the first year of the MSc in Actuarial Science and Management program.

Eligibility Criteria for Heriot-Watt University MSc Actuarial Science Scholarships

Applicants are advised to meet the following requirements to be qualified for Heriot-Watt University MSc Actuarial Science Scholarships:

  • Countries of Eligibility: International and UK candidates
  • Acceptable Course or Subjects: The scholarship can be used for any course that the university offers.
  • Acceptable Requirements: Applicants must fulfill the following requirements to be considered for the MSc Actuarial Science Scholarships:
    • application for admission to the MSc in Actuarial Science program and acceptance.

Application Procedure for Heriot-Watt University MSc Actuarial Science Scholarships

Once an application for the MSc in Actuarial Science program is accepted, the scholarships are given out automatically. The scholarship information will be included in your offer letter if your application is approved. 

The Submission Deadline is: 31 January 2024

Not interested in this particular scholarship? See other UK scholarships here.