Australia Scholarships Oceania Scholarships Scholarships Undergraduate

University of Queensland Kenneth A. Thiess Prize, Australia for 2023

The University of Queensland is now accepting applications for its partially funded Kenneth A. Thiess Prize.

About the University of Queensland and Scholarship

The University of Queensland was established by a State Parliament Act in 1909 and became the state’s first university on April 16, 1910, with the gazettal of appointees to the first UQ Senate. Teaching began in 1911 in Brisbane’s Old Government House on George Street. There were three faculties and 83 students (60 males and 23 women) in the first year.

Following World War I, the University developed fast and exceeded its inner-city position. An additional plot in Victoria Park (now occupied by the Medical School) was purchased in 1922. Dr. James O’Neil Mayne and his sister, Miss Mary Emelia Mayne, provided funds four years later to purchase the St Lucia property where the University’s main campus is presently located. Construction on the St Lucia site began in 1937, and the first structure, subsequently dubbed the Forgan Smith structure after the day’s Premier, was finished in 1939. It served as the forward headquarters for the Allied Land Forces in the South West Pacific during World War II.


The University combined with the Queensland Agricultural College at (now Gatton), 80 kilometers west of Brisbane, in 1990, resulting in the combination of the two state’s oldest higher education institutions and a significant rise in enrolment. The former Queensland Agricultural College opened its doors to students in 1897, and there has been a long tradition of cooperation between the two universities in both teaching and research.

In 1999, UQ established a significant campus in the provincial capital of Ipswich, replacing the Challinor Centre mental health hospital. This campus was transferred to the University of Southern Queensland in January 2015, however, UQ continued to teach at the USQ Ipswich campus until 2016 to assist certain students with their studies. UQ’s primary clinical health and research teaching facility at Herston, which opened in 2010, is currently the university’s third campus.

The university is respected in several engineering disciplines. In terms of mining and minerals engineering, it is ranked third in the world. It is rated 76-100th, 76-100th, and 101-150th in electrical and electronic engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, material science and engineering, and material science and engineering, respectively.

The Kenneth A. Thiess Prize was established in 1963 by a £10,000 gift from Mr. B.J. Thiess as a memorial to his son Kenneth A. Thiess, a young Civil Engineering graduate of this University who was accidentally killed while performing engineering duties for the Snowy Mountains Hydroelectric Authority.

Details about the Kenneth A. Thiess Prize at the University of Queensland:

Scholarship Sponsor: University of Queensland, Australia

Scholarship Value: TBC

Number of awards: One

Study level: Undergraduate

Host Institution(s): University of Queensland, Australia

Eligibility Criteria for Kenneth A. Thiess Prize:

Applicants are advised to meet the following conditions to be eligible for the Kenneth A. Thiess Prize at the University of Queensland:

  • are enrolled full-time in one of the following approved programs
  • will graduate in Semester 2 2023 or Semester 1 2024
    • Bachelor of Engineering (Honours)/ Master of Engineering
    • Bachelor of Engineering
    • Bachelor of Engineering (Honours)
    • a dual engineering program
  • are enrolled in a civil engineering program in any subject 

Selection Criteria

  • academic excellence
  • taking part in educational activities

Application Process for Kenneth A. Thiess Prize

Log in or register for the scholarship and attach the below documents:

  • a cover letter
  • a copy of your resume
  • a copy of your most recent studies report from mySI-net.

Use the tips for putting together a great application to help you through this process.


Kenneth Thiess prize rules (PDF, 96.37 KB)

The Submission Deadline is: 20 August 2023

Not interested in this particular scholarship? See other Australia scholarships here.