Europe Scholarships Masters Postgraduate Scholarships UK Scholarships

University of Glasgow School of Geography and Earth SGE Sciences PGT Excellence Awards in the UK for 2023

Application is now open for the SGE Sciences PGT Excellence Awards at the University of Glasgow. Interested applicants are encouraged to send their applications in before the deadline date.

About the University of Glasgow and Scholarship

The University of Glasgow is a public research institution located in Glasgow, Scotland (abbreviated as Glas. in post-nominals; Scottish Gaelic: Oilthigh Ghlaschu). As one of Scotland’s four historic universities, it is the fourth-oldest institution in the English-speaking world. By papal edict in 1451 [O.S. 1450], it was created. Along with the universities of St. Andrews, Aberdeen, and Edinburgh, the organization took part in the Scottish Enlightenment of the 18th century. Glasgow is the second-largest university in the UK and the largest institution in Scotland in terms of total enrolment, with over 19,500 postgraduate students.

The initial needs of pupils from wealthy families were supplied by Glasgow, much like pre-modern schools. It made a name for itself in the 19th century, nevertheless, by catering to the demands of students from the burgeoning urban and commercial middle class. All of these students benefited from Glasgow University’s preparation for jobs in law, medicine, government, education, and religion. A smaller but growing number of persons received training for careers in engineering and science.


Post-graduate taught Excellence Scholarships are available to qualified candidates from the University of Glasgow School of Geography and Earth Sciences. The recipients of this prize must be post-graduate taught students from outside the United States who want to enroll in a research program at the university.

The School seeks to enroll academically gifted students in postgraduate taught programs and to give them a rigorous, research- and industry-based education. Candidates having a 1st class honors degree with a 70% or above in the UK are eligible for excellence scholarships.

Details about SGE Sciences PGT Excellence Awards at the University of Glasgow:

Scholarship Sponsor: University of Glasgow, UK

Scholarship Value: £10,000

Number of Awards: 4

Study Level: Masters

Host Institution(s): University of Glasgow, UK

Courses: Earth Futures, Environmental Futures, Geoinformation, Technology & Cartography, Geomatics & Management, Geospatial & Mapping Sciences, Human Geography, Land & Hydrographic Surveying, Land & Hydrographic Surveying with Work Placement

Eligibility Criteria for SGE Sciences PGT Excellence Awards

Applicants are advised to meet the following conditions to be eligible for the SGE Sciences PGT Excellence Awards at the University of Glasgow:

  • International students are required to apply.
  • A full-time program offer from the University of Glasgow in the United Kingdom is required for applicants.
  • Outstanding personal achievement abilities (such as emotional maturity, motivation, persistence, etc.)
  • Candidates need to have a strong sense of responsibility, be able to work independently in a systematic way, and have outstanding communication and interpersonal skills.
  • Based on merit and leadership demonstrated during the application process.
  • Required English Language Proficiency: The University of Glasgow requires applicants to demonstrate that they possess a minimal level of English language competency.

Eligible countries/regions

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Cayman Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Congo Democratic Republic of
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Cuba
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • East Timor
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Korea North
  • Korea South
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Macedonia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Palestine
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zaire
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan

Application Procedure for SGE Sciences PGT Excellence Awards

Candidates who already have offers will be evaluated for the scholarship automatically based on their academic merit. Candidates for the scholarship who are still under consideration will be notified six weeks after receiving an offer. There is no further application form necessary. You can visit the official website for further details.

Submission Deadline: Available Yearly

Not interested in this particular scholarship? See other UK scholarships here.